Species Spotlight: Emperor Scorpion


Habitat: Rainforest and wet savannas of Africa

Diet: Mainly insects, but will also eat small mammals, birds, lizards, and other scorpions

Size: Can reach up to 8 inches in length

Classification: Class Arachnida (spiders, scorpions, etc.); Order Scorpiones; Family Scorpionidae; Genus Pandinus

Scorpions have eight legs just like spiders, plus two pincher claws.

There are over 1000 species of scorpion and all have venom. However, only about 25 species are known to be able to kill a human. The Emperor Scorpion is not one of those.

At the end of the tail is the stinger bulb, which carries the venom. The scorpion will inject the venom into its prey or catch its prey in its pinchers and crush it.

Scorpions eat mainly insects, but are opportunistic eaters and can eat other items as well, such as small mammals, birds, lizards, and even other scorpions.

Emperor scorpions are nocturnal and will hide in burrows during the daytime. They come out at night to feed.

Keep following this blog for more Species Spotlights!

This entry was posted in Species Spotlights and tagged , , by Megan Beaver. Bookmark the permalink.

About Megan Beaver

Megan is our Resident Zoologist at the Akron Fossils & Science Center. She has a Bachelors of Science in Zoology from Kent State University and is certified in Project WILD, Aquatic Project WILD, and Growing Up WILD through the Ohio Division of Wildlife. Megan enjoys sharing knowledge about animals and their ways. Megan spends her free time with family, friends and her dog, cat, and horse.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s